

To:	Members of the County Council	Date:	3 September 2014

Direct Dial: 01824712589

e-mail: dcc\_admin@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the **COUNTY COUNCIL** to be held at 10.00 am on **TUESDAY**, **9 SEPTEMBER 2014** in **COUNCIL CHAMBER**, **COUNTY HALL**, **RUTHIN LL15 1YN**.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal and Democratic Services

## AGENDA

# PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

## 1 APOLOGIES

## 2 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST** (Pages 5 - 6)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

## **3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR**

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

## 4 CHAIR'S DIARY OF EVENTS (Pages 7 - 10)

To note the civic engagements undertaken by the Chairman of the Council (copy attached).



# **5 MINUTES** (Pages 11 - 18)

To receive the minutes of the meeting of County Council held on 10 June 2014 (copy enclosed).

## 6 NORTH WALES FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

Presentation by Simon Smith, Chief Fire Officer and Dawn Docx, Deputy Chief Fire Officer, to consult with Members on the North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority's proposals for future delivery of fire and rescue services across the region.

## 7 NOTICE OF MOTION

To consider the following Notice of Motion submitted by Councillor James Davies.

"This Council supports initiatives to train 'Dementia Friends' and to create 'Dementia Friendly Communities'. It seeks to take a lead locally in this field through becoming a 'Dementia Friendly Council' and will consider, via scrutiny committee and other appropriate channels, a range of measures that can be taken to enhance its services to dementia patients and their carers."

## 8 NOTICE OF MOTION

To consider the following Notice of Motion submitted by Councillors Joe Welch, Colin Hughes, Geraint Lloyd-Williams, Meirick Lloyd Davies and Eryl Williams.

"We would like the support of the council to have a firm stance to demand that the NW Wind Farms connection is placed underground for its entire length".

## **9 REFORMING LOCAL GOVERNMENT** (Pages 19 - 28)

To consider a report by the Chief Executive (copy enclosed) for Members to provide a strategic assessment of the options within the White Paper (Reforming Local Government). A decision is requested on whether to submit an Expression of Interest to voluntarily merge with Conwy County Borough Council.

## **10 REVIEW OF HOME TO SCHOOL TRANSPORT POLICY** (Pages 29 - 68)

To consider a report by the Head of Customers & Education Support (copy enclosed) for consultation with Members of outlined proposals for the revised Policy for Home to School Transport.



## 11 CAPITAL PLAN (Pages 69 - 90)

To consider a report by the Head of Finance and Assets (copy enclosed) to provide Members with an updated Capital Plan including an update on major projects and the Corporate Plan.

#### 12 BUDGET 2015/16 - 2016/17

To consider a report by the Chief Accountant (copy to follow) to provide an update of the latest budget position for 2015/2016 - 2016/17

#### 13 FINANCE REPORT - FINAL REVENUE POSITION & STATEMENT OF ACCOUNTS 2013/14 (Pages 91 - 108)

To consider a report by the Chief Accountant (copy enclosed) for Members to consider and note the final revenue position and the impact on reserves and balances.

## **14 MEMBER TRAINING** (Pages 109 - 138)

To consider a report by the Member Support and Development Manager (copy enclosed) for Members to make the decision as to which training sessions were to be classed as mandatory for specific roles. Also to update Members regarding the Personal Development Plan / Review Process.

## 15 COUNTY COUNCIL FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 139 - 144)

To consider the Council's Forward Work Programme (copy enclosed).

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

#### Councillors

Councillor Brian Blakeley (Chair)

Ian Armstrong Raymond Bartley Joan Butterfield Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones Bill Cowie Ann Davies James Davies Meirick Davies Richard Davies Stuart Davies Peter Duffy Councillor Gwyneth Kensler (Vice-Chair)

Geraint Lloyd-Williams Margaret McCarroll Jason McLellan Barry Mellor Win Mullen-James Bob Murray Peter Owen Dewi Owens Merfyn Parry Paul Penlington Arwel Roberts



Hugh Evans Peter Evans Bobby Feeley Carys Guy Huw Hilditch-Roberts Martyn Holland Colin Hughes Rhys Hughes Hugh Irving Alice Jones Huw Jones Pat Jones Gareth Sandilands David Simmons Barbara Smith David Smith Bill Tasker Julian Thompson-Hill Joe Welch Cefyn Williams Cheryl Williams Eryl Williams Huw Williams

## **COPIES TO:**

Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils